"Here is my secret. It is very simple: It is only with the heart that one can see rightly; what is essential is invisible to the eye.."- Antoine de Saint Exupéry

Roses for My Father

Tonight, at this hour, the date has already changed in Romania, my homeland. It’s the 24th of June. Day of celebration for Christians as it’s the day of birth of Saint John the Baptist. Day of celebration even for the people that believe in magic, as it’s considered a magic night/day.
To me though this day means something else. Today my father would have had his 65th birthday. My dad who went to God 25 years ago. I can still remember his laughter. Not much of other details , but I can still remember how he used to laugh with tears sometimes. He was such a joyful man, kind, helpful, he loved life so much…And I know he had his flaws too, but for me he is my dad, IS my dad and I don’t ever consider him dead, only departed in a better place where he is waiting for us to meet again.
I know that my father watches over me and today I am thinking of  him. I do so every day, but today, in a more special way.
So dad, you know that I love you and that I often miss you, but that is only until I realise that I have you always with me. And the simple thought that one day I will hold you in my arms again brings tears of joy and hope in my heart.
May God rest you in His peace until we meet again. From me a song that you loved so much. And the present of the flowers that you love the most, special like you, noble like your noble soul.  Roses for my father, Ioan (John).

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

13 responses

  1. This is a lovely tribute to your father.

    Blessings ~ Wendy

    June 24, 2013 at 00:37

    • Thank you dear Wendy
      Blessings and Love back at you.🙂

      June 24, 2013 at 13:04

  2. Peace Ela >.<

    June 24, 2013 at 01:12

    • Peace Troy >.<

      June 24, 2013 at 13:00

  3. Your father, I imagine must be sitting under a tree full of blooms, watching the sunset, reading your touching words of tribute. Peace and love.

    June 24, 2013 at 12:27

    • Yes he is. I imagine the same. And I know his soul is smiling;🙂 Peace and Love AJ.

      June 24, 2013 at 13:06

  4. Reblogged this on Graffiti-uri pe pereţii unei gări.

    June 24, 2013 at 12:39

    • Multumesc mult pentru repostare, ma onorati.❤🙂

      June 24, 2013 at 13:25

      • Ne pare tare rău pentru pierderea tatălui tău. Iar gândul tău frumos către el ne-a impresionat.

        June 24, 2013 at 13:26

      • Multumesc din suflet.❤

        June 25, 2013 at 14:51

  5. As long as we carry them in our hearts our loved ones are never truly gone. Namaste

    June 24, 2013 at 14:34

    • Many thanks dear friend, it is so true. Thank you for your kind thought and words.

      June 25, 2013 at 14:45

  6. Reblogged this on memyselfandela and commented:

    Another year gone. Yet time means nothing. I love you dad, God rest your good soul.

    June 25, 2015 at 16:21

Leave a Reply

