"Here is my secret. It is very simple: It is only with the heart that one can see rightly; what is essential is invisible to the eye.."- Antoine de Saint Exupéry

In Blue

losing myself

in blue eyes

that plunge

the very essence of me

to unfathomable depths

of azure

hurled to highest stratosphere

a human rocket

launched by penetrating gaze

of cobalt light sky

surrendering to

blue eyes

where dark lashes dart

flit – soar – dance

as birds above whitecapped waves                    

on twin sapphire seas

© Gregory Alan Dunbar

me perdre

dans les yeux bleus

qui plongent

l’essence même de moi

aux profondeurs insondables

d’azur

lancé à la plus haute stratosphère

une fusée humaine

lancé par le regard pénétrant

de la lumière du ciel de cobalt

s’abandonner à

yeux bleus

où les cils noirs de fléchettes

flit – s’envoler – danse

comme les oiseaux au-dessus des vagues plafonee en blanc

sur les deux mers de saphir

11 responses

  1. wonderful. second line – “which” should be “that” we use “which” when the thing we’re talking about is the only thing of that kind in the world. we use “that” when we’re talking about one of those things but there are also others.

    April 10, 2012 at 01:17

    • You are right, I corrected it… I translated, but English is not my native language, so I make mistakes also.. 🙂
      Thank you Rich. 🙂

      April 10, 2012 at 01:43

      • you’re welcome. both my kids take french classes and love it. i’ve had four years of spanish, but it doesn’t sound like music, like french does.

        April 10, 2012 at 01:47

      • I am Romanian Rich… I speak English, French, German, Italian, a bit of Spanish… still, the only thing I know so far is that I know nothing… I am still not perfect, still making mistakes… but the good part is that learning new languages opens new windows towards new countries, poems, feelings, music… If I would have time I would still learn…

        April 10, 2012 at 01:54

      • you know plenty. don’t be so modest.

        April 10, 2012 at 01:55

      • I wish I had this enthusiasm when I was 15…. I would have learned more…
        Thank you Rich.

        April 10, 2012 at 01:59

      • sometimes we do have enthusiasm at 15, but we don’t have the maturity to know what to do with it.

        April 10, 2012 at 02:11

      • exactly… by the time we find out what existence is all about, we lose some of the enthusiasm and we get involved with life and problems…

        April 10, 2012 at 02:15

      • if you’re still alive, then you still have life in you to work with.

        April 10, 2012 at 02:16

      • yes, till the last breath…

        April 10, 2012 at 02:29

      • I wish I had this enthusiasm when I was 15…. I would have learned more…
        Thank you Rich.

        April 10, 2012 at 01:59

Leave a comment